Mar 16 2016

Makers of ‘Son of Saul’ receive Kossuth Prize

March 16, 2016

On March 15, László Nemes, director of the Oscar winning “Son of Saul”, Géza Röhrig, the lead actor, and Mátyás Erdély, cameraman, were among the artists who received the Kossuth Prize on the occasion of the anniversary of the revolution of 1848.

In addition to the “Son of Saul” film crew, János Áder, President of Hungary, awarded the Kossuth Prize to fifteen other Hungarian artists, including Miklós Benedek (actor), Adam Farkas (sculptor), Balázs "Fecó" Ferenc (composer), and Anna Kiss (poet).

During the ceremony in the Hungarian Parliament, President Áder, and Prime Minister Victor Orbán also awarded the Szechenyi Prize to those who have made an outstanding contribution to academic life in Hungary.

The Kossuth Prize is one of the most prestigious state-sponsored awards in Hungary, named after Lajos Kossuth. The Kossuth Prize was first awarded in 1948 on the occasion of the centenary of the March 15th revolution.

Besides the small, golden Kossuth statuette, each recipient receives a tax-free monetary award, which is always five times the average annual salary in Hungary.


Click here to find out more about donations or click here to donate / pay for events now with Paypal.

Library Widget


Click here to find out more about our efforts or click here to donate.

Kossuth Foundation Login